MARIE BROWN ASSOCIATES Literary Services is a voice for writers in the complex world of writing and book publishing. We secure publishers for client projects, negotiate contracts for books and associated subsidiary rights, and assist writers in developing their literary careers.  We are responsible for effectively conveying writers’ ideas to publishers and serve as their advocate, as necessary, throughout the publishing process.  The firm was founded in 1984 by Marie Dutton Brown, a former book and magazine editor who has been described by Black Enterprise magazine as one of “the major African-American players” in the publishing industry and international literary community. 

 

Notable Clients Represented by Janell Walden Agyeman for Marie Brown Associates

 

For Young Readers

Sharon M. DraperNew York Times Bestseller Out of My Mind; Stella by Starlight; Tears of a Tiger, Forged by Fire, Darkness Before Dawn (The Hazelwood High Trilogy); The Battle of Jericho, November Blues and Just Another Hero (The Jericho Trilogy); Romiette & Julio; Double Dutch; Copper Sun; Fire from the Rock; We Beat the Street; The Clubhouse Mysteries; and The SASSY series www.sharondraper.com

 

Dana Davidson:   Jason & Kyra and Played  http://thebrownbookshelf.com/2008/02/03/dana-davidson/

 

Mayra Lazara Dole: Down to the Bone  www.mayraldole.wordpress.com

 

Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu: Zahrah the Windseeker and The Shadow Speaker   www.nnedi.com

 

Ellen Prager:  The Shark Whisperer, The Shark Rider and Sting Ray City (Tristan Hunt and the Sea Guardians Series)  www.tristan-hunt.com

 

Adult Fiction

Leonard Pitts, Jr.:  2004 Pulitzer Prize winner and syndicated columnist for the Miami Herald. Janell represents both his fiction and non-fiction works. Freeman,  Before I Forget and Grant Park are his published novels.  www.leonardpittsjr.com

 

Sharon Cullars:  Again and The Object of Lovewww.sharoncullars.com

 

Tananarive Due: The Between and My Soul to Keep www.tananarivedue.com

 

Trice Hickman: Secret Indiscretions; Looking for Trouble; Unexpected Interruptions; Playing the Hand You’re Dealt; Keeping Secrets and Telling Lies and; Breaking All My Rules www.tricehickman.com

 

Lori Johnson:  After the Dance and A Natural Woman www.lorijohnsonbooks.com

 

Janice Jones:  His Woman, His Wife, His Widow;  From Sinner to Saint; Lindsay’s Legacy; The Book Store Rule www.janicejonesliteraryworks.com

 

Wendy Coakley-Thompson: Back to Life and What You Won’t Do for Love  www.wendycoakley-thompson.com

 

Narrative Non-Fiction

Leonard Pitts, Jr.: 2004 Pulitzer Prize winner and syndicated columnist for the Miami Herald , Janell represents both his fiction and non-fiction works. Becoming Dad: Black Men and the Journey to Fatherhood and Forward From this Moment are his non-fiction writings. www.leonardpittsjr.com

 

 

 

Alysia Burton Steele: Delta Jewels: In Search of My Grandmother's Wisdom www.alysiaburton.com

 

 

 

Evelio Grillo: Black Cuban, Black American artepublicopress.com/blog/evelio-grillo/

 

 

 

Kathie Klarreich: Madame Dread: A Tale of Love, Voudou and Civil Strife in Haiti http://www.publicaffairsbooks.com/book/paperback/madame-dread/9781560257806

 

 

 

Carlos Moore: Pichón: Race and Revolution in Castro’s Cuba and Fela: This Bitch of A Life www.drcarlosmoore.com